The New Zealand government has announced plans to allow the resumption of quarantine-free travel from four Australian territories from July 4.

The travel bubble between New Zealand and Australia was paused over the weekend, as a result of “multiple cases and outbreaks in Australia in differing stages of containment”.

New Zealand pauses travel bubble with Australia

The pause initially ran until June 29, with the government stating that it would “continue to monitor the situation closely”.

A review has now deemed that quarantine-free travel can resume from Tasmania, ACT, Victoria and South Australia, effective 2359 NZT on Sunday July 4.

But it will remain paused for travel from New South Wales, Northern Territory, Queensland and Western Australia.

Travellers must also not have been in New South Wales on or after 2359 on June 22, or in Queensland, the Northern Territory or Western Australia on or after 2230 on June 26. Negative pre-departure tests will be required to enter New Zealand.

The quarantine-free travel bubble between New Zealand and Australia commenced in April, and announcing the initial pause the government said that it “acknowledges the frustration and inconvenience that comes with this pause, but given the high level of transmissibility of what appears to be the Delta variant, and the fact that there are now multiple community clusters, it is the right thing to do to keep Covid-19 out of New Zealand”.