Hotel Toiletries

Back to Forum
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)

• Anonymous

Cedric_Statherby
    Participant

A qustion for the weekend …

What happens to all the half-used hotel shampoos and soaps etc, and is it ever OK to take them with you as you leave? I am sure they are not reused for guests and I presume they are not recycled. Is one in fact doing the hotel industry a favour by taking them and so relieving the hotel of the duty of disposing of them?

And what other hotel “room supplies” has anyone been tempted to liberate?

BABenji
    Participant

You know what they say about assumption!?

In a previous life I worked in the hotel trade. In at least two hotels (one of which is a very prestigious property) left over shampoo and showergel was collected and rebottled.

joeash8
    Participant

Usually the staff will end up taking them home, however on the contrary some hotels although in the minority are not past topping up the small bottles and recycling them. For the most part hotels expect for you to take them home, the Burj Al Arab in Dubai gives you full size Hermè`s products to take home, even replenished as required. However Aman hotels choose to use large toiliteries that can be impossible to take with you.

Petericia
    Participant

I cant just believe that they reuse it.

Some hotels use dispensers or large refillable bottles with pump-like mechanisms that are screwed to the wall, making it impossible to “liberate” like the newly opened East in Quarry Bay, Hong Kong, which uses the Elemis spa line of products in their showers.

MarcusUK
    Participant

In using 4 * + hotels, if the products are good brands, (Hermes at Sofitel etc), I tend to take some with me for use on the plane. ideal for the limits of security, & hardly provided on many carriers these days, even in Premium cabins.