Hotel air conditioning

Back to Forum
  • This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 31 total)

• Montysaurus
    Participant

I often find great difficulty in setting the air conditioning in hotel rooms because –
    I’m getting on a bit;
    They rarely come with instructions;
    They rarely work as the pictograms, if provided, suggest;
    They have varying fan speeds which seem to bear little relation to what is either desired or occurs;
    They sometimes have other symbols that have no explanation;
    Some, but not many, allow me to set the temperature I want but many more show the number of degrees increase that I may want but still show the current temperature.
    I am tempted to discount the first reason as I can manage technology reasonably well given that I am a Chartered Engineer. In my car I set the climate control to the temperature I want and it gets there all by itself, even automatically decreasing fan speed as it approaches the desired temperature. Why can’t hotel systems do something similar?
    Do others have this problem or does the first reason actually apply?

capetonianm
    Participant

I am delighted to read this and to know that I’m not alone in failing to manage hotel air conditioning.

I’ve been able to manage complex computer systems for revenue and inventory management for airlines so I don’t think I’m particularly stupid. I often find that when things that dumbed down to the level of pictograms they are more difficult to understand than old-fashioned controls.

I would also add that I detest air conditioning with a passion and do my best to stay in places where you can switch it off and open the windows, even in hot places.

esselle
    Participant

…..and aircon that sounds like a Spitfire taking off, even on the lowest fan setting…….

MartynSinclair
    Participant

as long as I can turn the a/c on and off and set the desired temperature, all is good….