India and Australia have signed an Open Skies agreement, which will relax the aviation rules between the two countries.

As per the new agreement, India will allow Australian airlines to access six Indian airports-Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Chennai and Kolkata. Likewise, Indian airlines will be able to access Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide and one yet to be named Australian airport.

The previous bilateral pact had a limit of 6500 seats per week between the two countries. However, this rule will now be amended.

Currently, Air India is the dominant Indian carrier operating direct flights to Australia. Other Indian airlines like IndiGo and Vistara are expected to explore the Australian aviation market soon.