Air Canada FFP to implement spending requirement for status

25 Nov 2015 by Clement Huang

The process of attaining status with Air Canada Altitude is set to change, as the airline will implement a spending requirement for each eligible tier of its frequent flyer programme. 

According to the carrier, the changes “reflect similar requirements in other global frequent flyer programs and will ensure that we continue to better recognise our most valued customers.”

With effect from 2017, Air Canada will introduce Altitude Qualifying Dollars (AQD), which represent the monetary value associated with each eligible ticket. This will be combined with the number of Altitude Qualifying Miles (AQM) or Altitude Qualifying Segments (AQS) earned, whichever is higher, to determine overall tier status.

AQM represents the amount of miles earned from individual fare classes, while AQS is the number of individual flight sectors flown.

AQD spending required for each tier 

The AQD qualification requirement will be tracked from January 1, 2016, and will be used to qualify members for their respective tiers in 2017.

The current requirements for a predetermined number of flights flown with Air Canada can be seen below:

Existing system requirment  

Attaining status on Altitude will no longer require members to travel a predetermined number of flights.  

Altitude members can begin tracking their AQD through their online accounts at from January 1, 2016.

For more information, visit

Clement Huang

Loading comments...

Search Flight

See a whole year of Reward Seat Availability on one page at

The cover of the Business Traveller May 2024 edition
The cover of the Business Traveller May 2024 edition
Be up-to-date
Magazine Subscription
To see our latest subscription offers for Business Traveller editions worldwide, click on the Subscribe & Save link below