What is a suitable allowance for premium travel to Asia?

Back to Forum
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)

• Anonymous

Bath_VIP
    Participant

I have been in discussions with a prospective client this week to run training courses in Asia later this year. Their proposal was that they would take care of the airfare but it would be an economy ticket with Malaysian Airlines. I haven’t flown economy long haul for over 20 years and I am not about to start now so I told them that I would prefer to receive a fixed allowance to cover airfares but I would be free to choose whatever airline I wanted.

According to Malaysian Airlines, their round trip fully flex economy ticket is about £1300 or $2000. I have very little experience of travelling to Asia but I have noticed a number of sales reported. I would be grateful if someone could give me an idea of what kind of allowance that I should ask for that would allow me to find a cheap business class fare to Asia.

MartynSinclair
    Participant

If you are willing to depart ex-Europe, it should not cost a lot more than currently being offered..

SGJNI1961
    Participant

I see Qatar are still offering BKK from AMS in business for just under £800.

stevescoots
    Participant

I travel to Asia from UK once a month, you would need £2000 for a reliable allowance, one that does not have you spending hours looking for deals, or using a carrier such as egyptair. below 1800 and you risk not getting a business class seat

TimFitzgeraldTC
    Participant

Hi BathVIP

The full fare Y Class seat on MH to KUL is £2075. There are cheaper Flex fares – but this is the full Y.