The end of rail franchising

Back to Forum
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)

• Bath_VIP
    Participant

Obviously the political situation is very fluid at the moment so who knows what the outcome will be.

But I think most of us would agree that the rail franchising system in the UK isn’t fit for purpose anymore. I said a few years ago that franchising really only works when the underlying brand has a reliable reputation and that is not the case with British Rail (as it was when franchising came in in 1994). The question then becomes what replaces it.

The ideas expressed in this article more or less match what I’ve been saying for quite a few years which is to distinguish between commuter, rural and intercity routes and have different solutions for each i.e.

Intercity – open access competition
    Rural – tenders run by local authorities
    Commuter – TfL style solution i.e. devolving the power to decide policy to a suitable metropolitan or combined authority.

See https://www.telegraph.co.uk/politics/2019/10/14/scrapping-useless-rail-franchises-makes-sense-already-making/

What do you think?

SPT
    Participant

Funny how things always go the full circle…

For all its faults, at the point of privatization, BR worked on the basis of three operating divisions in InterCity, Network South East and Regional Railways.

Two of the divisions (InterCity and NSE) made money which in theory could well have subsidized the loss maker (Regional Railways)

But then Tory dogma got in the way and in the rush to complete the last privatization, they insanely tried to introduce “competition” into the railway when the real competition to rail was and remains air, coach and the car. Coupled with the split between track and wheel, the resultant fragmentation has led to rocketing costs and lack of development of the network, especially in England.