Best and worst airline names

Back to Forum
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

• Hannah Brandler
    Keymaster

Love them or hate them, a crop of new airlines are launching with imaginative new names – from Thailand’s start-up carrier ‘Really Cool Airlines’ to Australia’s ‘Bonza’ brand.

Which airlines do you think have the best and worst names in the industry?

https://www.businesstraveller.com/business-travel/2023/03/24/really-cool-airlines-launches-in-thailand/

1 user thanked author for this post.

Bath_VIP
    Participant

I’m no marketing expert but I think you do have to connect your name to your intended strategy & brand image. So here are my thoughts and I wonder what others think.

1. No acronyms or names that can become acronyms

There’s been many threads on BT reciting the what these acronyms really mean e.g. Sabena = Such A Bad Experience Never Again.

2. Do you want to be regionally identified?

e.g. British Airways, Norwegian, Finnair, Air France, American Airlines. If you choose to do this your strategy automatically becomes one where the region in question is your home base and where most of your flights will originate from. It also requires ypu to reflect that region in your brand. There’s nothing wrong with that, especially with small airlines but if you are a small airline who wishes to become a big airline, this might limit your ambitions.

A better option here might be to use a name that is connected with a region as far as the locals are concerned but sounds more generic to non-locals. Delta is a good example here as I only found out last year when I flew into Monroe, Louisiana (where Delta was founded) that the airline is named after the Mississippi Delta area nearby. When I used to live in Newcastle, I created an imaginary airline called Magpie Airways with the same idea in mind.

3. Named after founder