London’s individual Overground lines are set to receive new names, with £4 million set aside in TfL’s budget for the project.

TfL is working with City Hall to rename six lines on the Overground, with the project currently in the first stages of development. There are no details on timeframe, however.

A TfL spokesperson said:

“The Mayor’s manifesto set out his intention to explore renaming routes on London Overground, to give each individual route its own name and make the network easier to navigate. Following the pandemic we are able to take this work forward and are currently assessing the options. Money has been set aside in the budget to take this work forward.”

The Overground launched in 2007 and has been operating under the name since, with the network currently covering 112 stations across six routes. These include:

  • Highbury and Islington to West Croydon/Clapham Junction/Crystal Palace
  • Richmond/Clapham Junction to Stratford
  • Gospel Oak to Barking Riverside
  • Euston to Watford Junction
  • Liverpool Street to Enfield Town/Cheshunt/Chingford
  • Romford to Upminster

The move to rename the lines dates back to a manifesto promise made by London mayor Sadiq Khan to give each individual London Overground route its own name and identity.

Meanwhile, Khan has also proposed a new express bus network, known as the Superloop, aimed at enhancing the connections between outer London boroughs.

TfL proposes Superloop bus network