India’s Home Ministry has added 37 more countries to its e-tourist visa scheme.

The additions mean that travellers from a total of 150 countries can now electronically apply for an Indian tourist visa.

The new countries are:

Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Comoros, Cote d’lvoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Eritrea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Iceland, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Moldova, Namibia, Romania, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Trinidad and Tobago, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Since its launch in November 2014, over 750,000 e-visas have been issued – around 3,500 per day.

The scheme was expanded to include travellers from the UK last summer (see news August 2015). 

Neha Gupta