Kazakhstan to bring in visa-free travel tomorrow

15 Jul 2015 by GrahamSmith

Citizens from 19 countries, including the UK, will be able to travel visa-free to Kazakhstan from tomorrow.

The move will allow travellers to access the country for a period of up to 15 days at a time.

It follows a successful 12-month pilot scheme that waived visa requirements for short-term visitors from ten nations.

The Kazakhstan government has now extended this to an additional nine countries until December 31, 2017.

The 19 countries are: Australia, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the UAE, the UK and the US.

Up until now, visitors had to pay £35 for a single-entry tourist visa, complete a visa application form, have hotel booking confirmations, and a letter addressed to the consular section of the Kazakhstan embassy.

Kalmukhanbet Kassymov, Kazakhstan's minister of internal affairs, said: "I am pleased to confirm the extension of a visa waiver. As a rapidly growing economy and a place of great natural beauty, Kazakhstan has a lot to offer to both tourists and business travelers, and we are delighted to welcome them."

The current July/August 2015 issue of Business Traveller contains a feature about Kazakhstan's trading growth. Subscribers can read it here.

Graham Smith

Loading comments...

Search Flight

See a whole year of Reward Seat Availability on one page at

Business Traveller September / October 2020 edition
Business Traveller September / October 2020 edition
Be up-to-date
Magazine Subscription
To see our latest subscription offers for Business Traveller editions worldwide, click on the Subscribe & Save link below