Heathrow's Terminal 2 is named after Queen Elizabeth

17 Jun 2013

Heathrow authorities have revealed the full name of the new Terminal Two: "The Queen's Terminal", which is to house Star Alliance members when it opens on June 4 next year (see news here).


The US$3.9 billion facility will consolidate the operations of 23 Star Alliance carriers, which currently process their passengers out of T1, T3 and T4, and streamline efficiencies. The grouping consists of Aegean Airlines, Air Canada, Air China, Air New Zealand, ANA, Asiana Airlines, Austrian, Brussels Airlines, Croatia Airlines, EGYPTAIR, Ethiopian Airlines, LOT Polish Airlines, Lufthansa, Scandinavian Airlines, Singapore Airlines, South African Airways, SWISS, TAM Airlines, TAP Portugal, Turkish Airlines, THAI, United and US Airways. EVA Air, which joins the magic circle tomorrow, June 18, will also be based at T2 (see news).

T2 is expected to soft open in November, but will have to undergo months of testing to ensure things run smoothly before its scheduled June 4 debut.

The Queen and Heathrow Airport boast a long association that many people may not be aware of. She inaugurated the Europa Building – as T2 was known in 1955 – two years after her coronation, as well as the Queen's Building, which was the original control tower. In 1969, she opened T1 and in 2008, she launched T5.

For more details, visit and

Valerian Ho

Loading comments...

Search Flight

See a whole year of Reward Seat Availability on one page at

Business Traveller April 2020 edition
Business Traveller April 2020 edition
Be up-to-date
Magazine Subscription
To see our latest subscription offers for Business Traveller editions worldwide, click on the Subscribe & Save link below