News

Qantas cuts flights from LHR-Hong Kong

24 Mar 2009 by Mark Caswell

Australian carrier Qantas is cutting one of its daily flights between London Heathrow and Hong Kong, on most weeks between now and the end of June.

The cuts are being discussed on several Australian frequent flyer forums, and although the airline has not made an official announcement on the cuts, a spokesperson confirmed that “based on demand, we will look at reducing some UK services on an ad hoc basis”. When Business Traveller consulted the timetable on Qantas’ website, for daily flight QF30 (departing London at 1220 and arriving into Hong Kong at 0710 the next day), we found the flight is not operating on the following days over the next few months:

Wednesday April 1
Tuesday April 7
Wednesday April 15
Wednesday April 29
Tuesday May 5
Tuesday May 12
Tuesday May 19
Monday May 25
Monday June 1
Wednesday June 10
Wednesday June 17
Wednesday June 24

A report in the Financial Times on Monday March 23 suggested that Qantas will announce a second wave of job cuts this week, following the loss of 1,500 jobs last year. For more information visit qantas.com.au.

Report by Mark Caswell

Loading comments...
BTUK October 2018 issue
BTUK October 2018 issue
Be up-to-date
Magazine Subscription
To see our latest subscription offers for Business Traveller editions worldwide, click on the Subscribe & Save link below
Polls