India and Asean countries forge open-sky pact

11 Nov 2008

India has opened its airspace to members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (Asean) as part of an open-sky agreement.

Airlines from 10 Asean countries - Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Brunei and Laos – will be allowed to fly into any Indian city. The basic framework of the agreement is expected to be laid out during future Asean meetings in the first half of 2009.

Under the agreement, the airlines will pursue code-sharing agreements and will develop cooperative solutions to the issues of aviation safety and security and air navigation.

Open-sky negotiations between India and Asean countries began in 2003.

He Ruiming

Loading comments...

Search Flight

See a whole year of Reward Seat Availability on one page at

The cover of the Business Traveller June 2024 edition
The cover of the Business Traveller June 2024 edition
Be up-to-date
Magazine Subscription
To see our latest subscription offers for Business Traveller editions worldwide, click on the Subscribe & Save link below