Who is responsible?

Back to Forum
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

• Cwyfan
    Participant

I booked and prepaid a hire car at ATL with Avis through BA.

All went smoothly until I got home, but then I found a rental car charge on the Amex that I used to cover any excess charges.

I have filled in the online customer issue form online twice for Avis, but neither time had a response.

I have asked Amex to make it a disputed charge, but nothing has happened despite me sending all the documents of proof that they asked for.

Should I really be taking it to BA as my contract and payment was to them.

Anybody have any experience and advice as to what I need to do next?

Thanking you in anticipation.

FDOS_UK
    Participant

Bear in mind that I am not a lawyer and this is my layman’s opinion

There are two strands here

1 – the contractual agreement
    2 – the charge or credit card issuer

BA acted as agent and collected your payment, but you signed an agreement with Avis, so that is who your contract is formed with.

You paid with American Express, so you may have recourse to them.

I do not think BA has any obligation to assist you.

If I was in this position, I would

1 – telephone Avis and ask them why they charged you this amount
    2 – telephone Amex and ask them why they have not charged back the amount

If you can present a reason from Avis to Amex, e.g. Avis says they charged legitimately for ‘x’ and you dispute it, then I would have thought that Amex would be obliged to investigate.

Just my tuppence.

nevereconomy
    Participant