When will travel return?

Back to Forum
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 105 total)

• Tom Otley
    Keymaster

I’d be very interested to know your opinions (and also what you think it might look like when it does come back).

I know some optimists think there will be a quick bounce back with everyone going on late Summer or Autumn holidays, while others point to the closed borders and quarantines as indicating a far longer hiatus.

(If we could avoid criticising the policies of other countries, that would be helpful!)

Woodpecker
    Participant

Essential business travel will return as soon as the borders come down and/or lockdowns are lifted. It would also depend on travel advisories and visa restrictions. This may be sooner in Asia than elsewhere.

Leisure travel I suspect may take much longer.

ontherunhome
    Participant

I work in the exhibition industry, and travel around Europe a lot. I do not see any resumption in my industry sector until end of June at the earliest, July and August are not the busiest of months, but may take up some re arraged dates. Realistically I am looking at September for my business.

AFlyingDutchman
    Participant

I’m in the hotel business, which like the airlines has been tremedously impacted by CoVid-19. Forward bookings seem to be picking up again from mid to late June with real business coming back from September. As already stated, this is of course all related to and dependant on the re-opening of borders, airports, and visa/foreigner restrictions being lifted. The current situation is devestating to our business like so many others.

NorskSaint
    Participant