uk airspace

Back to Forum
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)

• Anonymous

MartynSinclair
    Participant

Uk airspace is apparently not as closed as we may think. I have been reliably informed that private and commercial flights can be arranged and I’m currently arranging for a trip to europe asap. Flights have to be VFR and non jet I.e. Piston. I would be interested to hear whether anyone else can verify this.

Amazing that even as a pilot I was not aware of this.

(Sent via blackberry, so please excuse any spellings)

MartynSinclair
    Participant

Having spent most of the afternoon on the phone trying to get clarity regarding the lower level airspace, I am now more confused than ever. The situation, as I try to understand it is that jet aircraft cant fly because of an insurance issue (AS WELL AS A SAFETY ISSUE) with the ash. Correct call.

However, piston aircraft the situation is very different. There is no insurance issue with piston engined heli or fixed wing and up until yesterday, VFR flights into Europe with piston and some turbine heli’s were taking place (according to flight ops). The situation currently is that the French have now closed that door to VFR flights and i can not seem to get an answer whether Belguim or Dutch airspace is open.

I was also informed that the ash problem is becoming worse as it is now in the lower levels i.e. below 20000′. This basically means that turbines can not effectively climb out at lower levels until clear of the ash.

If anyone dounts the seriousness of the situation, dont, NATS are doing a wonderful job in ensuring ALL oiur safety and I support 100% the decision to close airspace.

However, i wish the reporting had provided far more clarity of exactly who it was affecting and when because had the information about VFR and piston flights been in the public domain (i.e. SKY NEWS) yesterday, may be some people could have found solutions.

Feet up for the rest of the weekend.

SSTBeliever
    Participant