SriLankan luggage problems

Back to Forum
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

• afoxe
    Participant

Male, 15th April 2017

Hi All

My name is Giuseppe D’Amato. I have been residing in Maldives for well over 30 years and because of this I travel frequently between Maldives, Europe and East Asia but regardless of my frequent travels I never found myself in a situation similar to the one I am going to describe below.

Last 4th of January 2017 I arrived in Colombo from Europe. I stayed overnight and the 5th I flew to Male with Srilankan. Upon arriving in Male airport I noticed that my Rimowa aluminum suitcase had a complete wheel seat torn, so much that you could see inside the suitcase. I stopped at the luggage services desk and they immediately contacted a Srilankan airline staff. A lady arrived, wearing a Srilankan uniform. She told me that Srilankan could either give me USD 90 reimbursement (consider the suitcase costs in excess of 900 Euro) or that they could send the suitcase to Colombo, have it repaired and send it back to Male. I agreed on this second option, got the papers (the computer of the office was out of order so they sent them to me by email a few hours later), went home to empty the suitcase and brought it back to the airport the next day. After one month I called to find out if there were any news. I was told that the luggage was still in Colombo and that they would call me once it arrived. After a further month I called again and was given the same reply.