Ryanair's Gender Pay Gap – Does it make sense?

Back to Forum
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

• Bath_VIP
    Participant

I am starting this thread for a wider discussion about gender pay gaps in airlines but Ryanair are an excellent case study.

In my professional life, I am an independent statistician who likes to blog about data in the public domain and gender pay gap (GPG) data is a very topical dataset for educating people in the correct and incorrect use of statistics. Ryanair have one of the largest pay gaps in the UK with the median woman earning 36p for every £1 that the median man earns but many airlines also have large gaps.

There is no mystery as to why the gap is so large. Ryanair make it very clear with their own narrative (which I think is an excellent report with great graphics and I have been saying so since last year) which states that their UK workforce essentially just consists of pilots and cabin crew since their head office and engineering staff are not based in the UK.

Click here for Ryanair’s Gender Pay Gap Report for 2018

Clearly since pilots are overwhelmingly male and presumably earn 5(?) times as much as cabin crew, who are mostly female, it is no surprise that the median man will found among pilots and the median woman will be found among cabin crew, hence the large gap.

However, one thing puzzles me which I hope someone can clarify for me on this forum. Their GPG report shows that Ryanair has 700 pilots and 700 cabin crew in the UK. Yet a B737-800 has 2 pilots and 4 cabin crew. So why aren’t Ryanair employing 1400 cabin crew in the UK? I thought Ryanair assigned all employees to a home base and their rotations start and end at that base?

By the way, If you would like download gender pay gap data for all organisations in the UK, there is a link to a (hopefully) user friendly spreadsheet in this blog post of mine “Where can I find gender pay gap data for 2018?”

1 user thanked author for this post.

TominScotland