Recommended budget hotel chains

Back to Forum
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)

• lee_lee
    Participant

I hope to travel periodically next year for work (within the US), where I will be traveling solo and typically will need only to spend one or two nights.

I am on a tight budget and would prefer to keep the cost per night under $80 (I just need a reasonably safe and sanitary place to sleep and get ready for my day. No bells and whistles.)

In your experience, what hotel chains would you recommend? (When I google I can find several chains all in my price range. Just wanted to hear some thoughts/opinions on your personal preferences and why.)

Also a bonus would be chains who offer points/credits for staying with them (that can eventually add up to a free night).

I am new to travelling, so any specific recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for reading.

AFlyingDutchman
    Participant

Hampton by Hilton are an excellent 3 star product with super beds, great shower and always complimentary Breakfast and WiFi. If you can book early enough you can score some great prices and of course earn points in their Hilton Honors program. Hilton also has a new brand, ranked slightly lower/cheaper than Hampton, being Tru by Hilton. I have not been to one yet, but they look fine, and again, same benefits of a Hampton.

1 user thanked author for this post.

Olneyflyer
    Participant

I agree with the recommendation. Hampton By Hilton would be my chain of choice on a tight budget.

2 users thanked author for this post.

Inquisitive
    Participant

Hampton is a very good suggestion, however it may not available within the budget indicated in many cities in USA. Next best will be the Holiday Inn Express that will be well within budget. Only problem is quite a lot of these do not have even any breakfast option but there will normally be a fast food joint nearby.

MartynSinclair
    Participant