Rail or Air?

Back to Forum
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

• m_b88
    Participant

I am currently studying towards a BA(Hons) in organisational capability and development.

I was hoping to get some feedback from the forum on your thoughts when choosing your travel options.

For longer journey’s air will usually prevail however for shorter journeys rail comes out on top.

But what about those journeys that are equal in terms of duration?

What influences your decision to pick either mode of transport. Cost? Comfort? Reliability? Environmental concerns?

Any of your thoughts on the matter would be much appreciated.

Kind Regards

AMcWhirter
    Participant

Hello m_b88

Much will depend on where a business traveller lives or works. Would a downtown train station be inconvenient if one is located near an airport ?

Nowadays matters are more difficult to define because of flight shame.

These pieces with reference to the UK and mainline Europe may help you.

London-Glasgow air travel decreases in favour of rail journeys

‘Flight shame’ could lead Flybe to cut domestic routes

Switzerland expands international rail

TGV Lyria capitalises on ‘flight shame’

Swissdiver
    Participant

It is indeed a complex equation. I live in a city centre, well deserved by rail and air. A rational decision for me would be to travel by rail for journeys up to 3-4 hours, air when it is more. Then comes the other factors. Last week for instance I flew to Paris instead of taking a train because of the strikes affecting less the air than the rail. A couple of months ago, I flew to Zurich because my destination was next to the airport. So the rule doesn’t always apply.
    Now if I were to live far from an airport, train might well be a more common option. Accessibility to the mode of transport therefore plays an important role as well.

tomwjsimpson
    Participant

Depending on options, I’d normally chose to fly.