My first business trip, any tips?

Back to Forum
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)

• SAINt
    Participant

I’ve been working as an IT consultant for Apknite for two years and recently was asked if I’m willing to do project work in another country. I said yes, and now it seems likely that I’ll be working abroad for an initial period of six weeks. I’m from Europe and so is the country I’m going to work at, so I’ll return to my home country for weekends. I’m excited!

Since travelling for business is a new thing to me, I’m here to ask advice from more experienced business travellers. Any pro tips you’d like to share?

canucklad
    Participant

Welcome to the forum SAINt
    If you’re wanting specific advice we’ll need more information particularly where you’re from and where you’ll be working.
    Having said that my 2 top tips are choose an airline and a hotel group, join their loyalty programme before your initial booking and stick to them.

1 user thanked author for this post.

MartynSinclair
    Participant

My top tip for your first trip:

ENJOY IT! 🙂

nibbler
    Participant

Figure out how you are getting to the airport; if its driving get a car park place close to the terminal – try and avoid busses – you have been away from home for days those 60 minutes getting to/ from your parked car and the terminal become time you could have spent with family / friends. Not so bad for taxi or other public transport.

Change hotels. A hotel room can feel like a prison quite quickly, even when you come home weekends. Alternatively pick a hotel and make it clear to them in advance they are about to get 6 weeks custom and ask them what they can do to make that stay easier.