If only we were all treated like this

Back to Forum
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

• CathayLoyalist2
    Participant

I have been flying with CX for 31 years, the last 25 years at Diamond Level. Back in Sept last year, and not having travelled at all to HKG because of the riots, whilst walking our dogs I slipped, overstretched my leg resulting in a torn quadricep muscle in my right knee. That was followed by surgery and 5 weeks in plaster and physiotherapy started in November. The upshot of surgery was no flying for 6/7 weeks and certainly no long haul flying because of the risk of DVT.

Fast forward to the present and having worked out that I would not get anywhere near close to achieving Diamond renewal I wrote to CX two weeks ago and “bending on the equivalent of an electronic knee” I asked/requested if they would consider renewing me at Diamond purely based on my track record. I got two emails one from my local Marco Polo contact who advised they would look at it. Then a further email some days later from the Head of the Marco Polo Club, Jessica Meyers, saying she would like to talk to me.

So this morning she duly did. Jessica , who was a delight to talk to, said they could not renew me at Diamond, given the gap between actual and the renewal goal was to large. However they would renew me at Gold,one level down from Diamond. The next bit was completely unexpected. Jessica gave me 4 four upgrade vouchers valid for a year plus the next time I was in HKG I was to let her know and we would meet up.

To say I was delighted would be an understatement. What could have been better than a call from the Head of Marco Polo Club and the offers she made. On the face if it the cost to Cathay is negligible but the impact on me considerable. So as I put in the topic heading I ask “why canĀ“t airlines, hotels and the like think abut treating all their customers, particularly the frequent flyers, like Cathay have treated me

capetonianm
    Participant