Frequent traveller: Sing for your supper

Back to Forum
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

• Anonymous

Anonymous
    Blocked

In which our correspondent proves that when it comes to clinching business deals abroad, he can charm the best of them…

Since we started to travel less frequently, everyone in my office has been getting on each other’s nerves because they are not used to queuing for the microwave. My boss has made it clear that fewer trips mean our remaining overseas meetings are even more significant, and has emphasised the importance of keeping good relations with our foreign clients and making the most of the time we have with them. This is okay by me, as I’m used to spending more time in air-conditioned offices than on sun-bleached beaches – consequently, I have some knowledge of cultural etiquette in far-off lands (and less sand in my pants).

In business, money is the common language, but getting to the stage where everyone is happy with the deal can be a tricky path to negotiate. In the US, the first rule is not to mix it with pleasure, something my American counterparts have honed into a perfect little package of controlled and convincing pleasantries. I often come away from a long meeting in the States feeling elated – I am the good guy and my jokes are hilarious. It’s just a shame no one wanted to buy a round of drinks and party with me until the early hours. Suddenly, my buddies are heading home and the last I see of them is their brilliant white teeth grinning away into the night.

This is quite the opposite of my visits to Japan, where the real deals are done after office hours. Downing sake in a karaoke bar while discussing the finer details of a multibillion pound contract is a surreal experience the first time, but now I even know which song will score me the most points (it’s not Hotel California or New York, New York, which means I’ve had to expand my repertoire).