Discount / Promo codes for travel – Do you use them?

Back to Forum
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

• MarcusGB
    Participant

Do you ever use “discount codes” or “Cashback” sites when booking your airport parking, hotels, or Airlines?

With the current World issues affecting travel, indeed everyday living costs, your home – Mortgage or rental, Air fare rises, these codes or sites, are becoming sensible savings.
    I have been using them for quite a few years. If YOU pay yr own travel costs for Leisure, it can offer a decent saving.

For “Cashback sites”, you just join as a member with no cost, select an Airline or Hotels for eg, and it re-directs you to that Company’s own website. This is logged, and you gain the % that can vary, as a payment back. It can take a few weeks after booking a flight, hotels up to 3 months after a completed stay.

The % can be up to 3% for Airlines which is not so much, but if you spend £2,000 on a flight, would you refuse £60 cash if handed to you? That could pay for a fair few coffees after all.

Hotels are a prime saving, and one of the best is “All Accor”. Rates tend to be either 10% or 15%, in which case would you refuse £150 handed back to you, after spending £1000?
    You also pay 5-10% less as a member, when booking.

Airport parking also is one of the best, simply using a search engine for that Airport or a specific Company “Discount / Promo code”

I just booked a simple economy return to Amsterdam with KLM, and earned £6 cashback. My hotel booked for 5 nights with Accor, that earns me 15% cashback, so around £125.
    As a Gold or Platinum member of a hotel group, you would also earn points with Accor, and a base 10% off from within your own Hotel Frequent Guest program account.

These do not clash, you earn both, so that is a 25% saving for hotels. Then take into account yr Gold / Platinum benefits, and earned points of credits, as you still booked directly through the Hotels website.