Delay compensation

Back to Forum
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)

• Anonymous

GregoryKohll
    Participant

I have a question for the more knowledgeable members of the forum.
    On September 23rd, my incoming flight BA435 from AMS to LHR was delayed by about 43 minutes, so I missed my onward flight BA167 from LHR to TLV (departure 16:40). I was rebooked onto BA163 that departed at 22:10.
    I arrived 5 hours and 45 minutes after my original schedule. I was given a refreshment voucher at the airport but not informed of my rights.
    British Airways rejected my claim, stating that Israeli consumer law applies as I am a resident of that country.
    Is BA correct? I lodged a complaint with the Netherlands version of the CAA.

MartinJ
    Participant

As long as you are flying on an airline registered in the EU or on any flight departing the EU regulation 261/2004 applies REGARDLESS of the passenger’s nationality or country of residence. Don’t let BA fob you off. You are entitled to compensation unless BA are able to demonstrate that it was an act of God or other inevitable and unforseeable circumstances that led to your delay.

Edski777
    Participant

Try these guys.

http://www.euclaim.co.uk/

They have an office in both the UK and in the Netherlands. They will handle your claim on a no cure / no pay basis. If successful they will charge you a fee, but it saves you from a lot of hassle.
    Typically, airlines will settle with them quite quickly as they have a reputation they will take them to court if necessary.

FDOS_UK
    Participant

GregoryKohll – 20/12/2015 09:51 GMT

What was the reason for the 43 minute delay, inbound from Amsterdam?

GregoryKohll
    Participant

Thanks everyone for your help.
    The incoming flight LHR-AMS was late (I understood that is quite common).
    I will continue to pursue this as BA is giving me the runaround.

TominScotland
    Participant