Confirmed – lastminute.com – avoid!

Back to Forum
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)

• Anonymous

Hokken29
    Participant

I am not exactly IT illiterate, I have been a web developer for 15 years but I am human and humans do make mistake occasionally.

Yesterday, I unfortunately did 2 mistakes, the first one was to decide to book a hotel on lastminute.com, the second one was to enter the wrong dates for my booking, it never happened before.

As a normal human being I just thought that just calling them to amend the dates would fix the situation, I was very wrong, I had no clue about the type of people I was dealing with.

The first problem is that they seem to outsource their customer support to India, bless the indians who have their own problems there, but many of us are struggling to understand clearly the accent and it is particularly difficult to have a one to one conversation with people who have been trained to react like robots using list of pre-determined scripts and scenarios.

Anyway, after 30 minutes on the phone I was told to call the hotel and that they will sort it out. I called the hotel and they told me that lastminute.com only could amend the dates. So I called back lastminute.com and guess what they told me to call back the hotel. I called the hotel for the second time and was told that actually lastminute.com proxy their booking through Expedia and that I had to call Expedia, nightmare scenario.

Tired of explaining my story to scripted robots, I decided to explain my situation using the lastminute.com contact form, explaining that I wasn’t asking for a refund but just for a change of dates or a voucher or anything really. I had spent £130 to book a hotel as a Christmas present for my partner and was shocked to realize there was no willingness from their part or gesture of goodwill to assist with the situation.

This is the reply I had from lastminute.com: