Cathay Pacific B777-300ER (four class with Premium Economy) First

Back to Forum
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)

• Anonymous

stilllovethejumbo
    Participant

Flew on CX First recently from Los Angeles to Hong Kong.

The oneworld lounge at LAX was mediocre at best with very average food offerings. Service was good. Boarding was announced 50 minutes prior to departure while I was using the showers – I ended boarding approximately 25 minutes before scheduled departure which was late, but there will still a few passengers left to board. I am a huge fan of the CX seat even though its starting to show a bit of ware – probably why they are in process of a refresh. The flight was only 50% full in First 3/6, and with 2 crew plus the ISM who has quite present during service meant a 1:1 crew ratio. Service was exceptional and very friendly. I am a veteran CX flyer so I know that they don’t make cabin rounds to leave passengers undisturbed, but expect the use of the call bell and respond within seconds of it being used. Plus the crew were more than happy to engage in conversation in the galleys and during service. The flight arrived HKG on Chinese New Year’s eve – probably explaining the light loads throughout. Catering and beverage selection left a bit to be desired – its quite clear that in HKG CX focuses much more on lounge catering quality through The Peninsula than it does on the on board offering.

The quality of headphones and display are mediocre when compared to similar top rate airlines, but the content of IFE was excellent. Wonderfully curated radio programs from which one can choose individual tracks and compile a play list, extensive range of music, tv programs and movies – I managed to watch 3 films and some TV episodes on this 14hr45 minutes flight.