BBC iPlayer abroad

Back to Forum
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 103 total)

• Anonymous

Deleted_User
    Participant

I have no problem getting radio stations on my laptop, but it’s impossible to get BBC TV programmes. Is there any way around this?

On my TV all I get is BBC World News.

flying_cookie
    Participant

Due to copyright restrictions, the iPlayer only works if the IP address you are accessing it from is in the UK or ROI. If you have a corporate VPN whose server is based in the UK/ROI, VPN first and then try running the iPlayer, it usually works.

Binman62
    Participant

Simonhb

BBC i player does not work outside the UK. It does this by looking at your ISP and if it is not a UK address then the signal is blocked.

The work around is very simple you need a VPN ( virtual private network) this provides you with a UK address and then iPlayer thinks you are in the UK and it all works.

I have no experience of this on a PC but on the ipad it is very simply and I use a firm called VPN express. There is a fee but there are lots of VPN suppliers and a variety of solutions but you need to ensure you get a UK based server as anything else will not work.

I als use a app called Tunein radio . Very good
    Film on live is also excellent for live TV.

If you have a VPN then you can also get Netflix UK edition.

Some of the techies on here may be able to provuide further details.

Deleted_User
    Participant

Thanks flying cookie and Binman

Will have a try….

openfly
    Participant

Download viewuktvabroad.com Sign on to £5 a month and watch uk tv thru FilmOn.com. Very easy and all uk tv anywhere. I watch uk tv in South Africa. You end up with a VPN icon. Just click on this anywhere and it opens an msn page. Put FilmOn.com in the address bar and most uk tv stations are on a list. Just click on the channel you want. It takes about 10 secs to change channel. You can also select BBC/ITV player Good luck….it’s easy!

Tim2soza
    Participant