BA-QR joint venture?

Back to Forum
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)

• Anonymous

Brett88
    Participant

Now that QR is part of One World, do you think a JV with BA on Kangaroo Route and/or UK-Asia services would be feasible? What I really want to know is, considering the success of the EK-QF JV, would it be in either BA or QR’s interests to give this a go? As we know, the ME3 carriers have been decimating the European legacy carriers’ traffic on the Kangaroo Route (with BA the only European carrier still using its own metal to Australia to just SYD, with NZ long gone) and the ME3 are putting serious pressure on them on their Europe – Asia routes too.

If this wouldn’t be feasible, why not? What differences can we draw upon between a BA-QR JV compared to the very successful EK-QF one? I’m very ignorant on the economics and logistics of it all, but very curious.

I’m an English teacher with no experience in the commercial aviation industry, so be nice and forgive my ignorance 🙂

Thanks

TabTraveller
    Participant

VS still operates their own metal down to SYD and I doubt that’ll stop anytime soon given the strength of the virgin brand in oz.

Brett88
    Participant

Ah yes, via HKG. I forgot that. Still… just two European carriers on the Kangaroo Route speaks volumes.

Str8Talking
    Participant

I would say that the new QR route from DOH to EDI timed perfectly for OZ connections is a good indication of things to come.

IanFromHKG
    Participant

For QF it enabled them to concentrate on one primary transfer hub, and gave them access to European routes through EK’s network that they could never serve themselves. So they get increased traffic to Dubai, reduced cost at out stations, a wider range of destinations, and accordingly a huge marketing advantage in Australia. I am not sure BA would get the same benefits from QR

Bear in mind also QF’s long-haul operations were loss-making and QF was desperate. That’s not the case for BA

WillieWelsh