Asked to pay extra for a business class seat.

Back to Forum
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)

• Shep
    Participant

I booked through my travel broker a British airways seat and asked for certain seats and was told I would have to pay extra $100 per seat for the leg Sydney Singapore. I must have traveled with at least 15 airlines this is the first time it’s happened. Well done British Airways.

2 users thanked author for this post.

first_class_please
    Participant

Since 2013…

Unless holding high enough fare class or frequent flyer status.

SimonS1
    Participant

I thought most airlines charged now. Another source of income raising.

_glbetrkkr_
    Participant

BA is the only airline I’ve known to charge seats, even in J class…
    Only F class has free seat selection.

jetsettraveluk
    Participant

I have a travel agent I’ve been using for a few years, never charged me extra for seats. Even on BA. As far as I know he is the only one in the industry who sells gives it to his clients free of charge.
    PM for further details

canucklad
    Participant

[quote quote=931944]BA is the only airline I’ve known to charge seats, even in J class…[/quote]

Shep. you never said what class, I’m assuming Club World though, as its common practice across the industry in Y nowadays . If it was in J then simply put, BA is charging you for being a disloyal customer, even if you have opted for one of their premium classes.
    If you’re flying in a Premium cabin, with premium prices you should be treated accordingly.
    Shoddy practice, but its BA so not surprising..

1 user thanked author for this post.

SwissExPat
    Participant

This happens to a limited extent on SWISS also.