E-visas issued to tourists travelling to India will have a 60-day validity period. Previously, the e-visa permitted a stay of only up to 30 days at a time in the country. This extension has been effective from April 1.

The e-visa is sub divided into three categories: e-tourist, e-business and e-medical.

Home Minister Rajnath Singh says, “Duration of stay on e-visa has increased from 30 days to 60 days with double-entry on tourist and business e-visas and triple entry on medical e-visas.”

The medical e-visa allows triple entry into the country within 60 days, whereas the business and tourist e-visas allow double entry.

Both business and medical e-visas can be granted within 48 hours of submitting the application. This however, is at the discretion of the Consulate General of India.

In addition two new visa categories have recently been introduced by the Indian government: film (F) visa, which grants a one year multiple entry facility, and intern (I) visa that allows students to pursue internships in India.


Netra Venkateshwaran