In the biggest relaxation for international arrivals to India since the outbreak of Covid-19, the government will from February 14 allow passengers to upload their certificate of completing full primary Covid-19 vaccination schedule in 82 countries on a mutually accepted basis. The Union health ministry has also removed the list of at-risk countries and replaced it with another list of countries in respect of which primary vaccination schedule completion certificate is allowed to be uploaded.

These include Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Maldives, New Zealand, Netherlands, Qatar, Singapore, Switzerland, UK and USA. China and UAE are among those not on the list of 82 countries as of now. The requirement of getting a Covid test done on day 8 of arrivals has also been nullified from February 14. This major relaxation could increase foreign inbound travel to India if the suspension of scheduled commercial flights is lifted as fares under bubble flights are very steep.