UK moves India from red to amber list

5 Aug 2021 by Business Traveller India
UK border control - image supplied by Heathrow

The United Kingdom will move India from its “red” to “amber” travel list, UK transport secretary Grant Shapps has confirmed.

The change takes effect from August 8, at 0400 hours. If you arrive in England before this date, then you must follow the red list rules.

As per the amber list rules, upon arrival in England travellers need to quarantine at home or in the place they are staying for ten days.

Under the voluntary test to release scheme, they can choose to pay for a private Covid-19 test on day five of the quarantine. If the result is negative, they can end their quarantine.

Visit Visas for the UK from India are open, in addition to other long-term visas that have remained open.

Along with India, the UAE, Qatar, and Bahrain will also be moved from red list to the amber list.

Grant Shapps said in a tweet, “While it’s right we continue our cautious approach, it’s great news to open more destinations for people wanting to connect with families, friends and businesses across the globe. All thanks to our successful domestic vaccination programme.”

Loading comments...

Search Flight

See a whole year of Reward Seat Availability on one page at

The cover of the Business Traveller April 2024 edition
The cover of the Business Traveller April 2024 edition
Be up-to-date
Magazine Subscription
To see our latest subscription offers for Business Traveller editions worldwide, click on the Subscribe & Save link below