The UAE will permit the entry of select travellers from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Uganda and Nigeria from tomorrow (August 5), authorities have announced.

Passengers with valid residency permits who have received all vaccination doses in the UAE, with 14 days having lapsed since the second dose, and who have vaccination certificates approved by the official authorities in the country, will be permitted to enter, The General Authority of Civil Aviation and the National Authority for Emergency, Crisis and Disaster Management announced.

Entry for medical personnel, including doctors, nurses, technicians who work in the UAE, as well as those working in the education sector who teach in universities, colleges, schools and institutes will be permitted, with vaccinated and non-vaccinated individuals granted entry.

In addition, students studying in the country, humanitarian cases who hold valid residency, workers in federal and local government agencies, and those who are completing treatment in the country, whether they are vaccinated or not, will also be excluded from the travel ban.

Travellers within these categories are required to submit a request on the Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship website to obtain the necessary approvals in addition to vaccination certificates certified by the concerned authorities in the country.

The excluded groups must submit a PCR test taken within 48 hours from the date of departure, provided the tests are from accredited laboratories and carry a QR Code. Also, a quick laboratory test must be conducted before boarding the plane, in addition to applying precautionary and preventive measures including quarantine and check-ups. PCR tests will also be conducted upon arrival in the UAE.

Travel will also resume for transit passengers from all countries, provided they have a negative PCR test result taken not more than 72 hours prior to departure.