India has formed an air bubble agreement with Russia. 

Starting from February 12, 2021, Indian and Russian airlines will be allowed to operate flights between the two countries.

Categories of passengers eligible to fly under the new air bubble include:

From India to Russia:

  • Stranded nationals/residents of Russia.
  • Any Indian national or national of Nepal or Bhutan destined for and holding a valid visa of Russia. It would be for the airlines concerned to ensure that there is no travel restriction for Indian/Nepalese/Bhutanese nationals to enter the destination country before issue of ticket/boarding pass to the Indian/Nepalese/ Bhutanese passenger.
  • Seamen of foreign nationalities and Seamen holding Indian passports would be allowed subject to clearance from the Ministry of Shipping. Seamen should be destined for Russia only.

From Russia to India:

  • Indian nationals or nationals of Nepal or Bhutan stranded in Russia.
  • All Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) cardholders and Person of Indian Origin(PIO) cardholders holding passports of any country.
  • Russian nationals intending to visit India for any purpose (including their dependents on the appropriate category of dependent visa) except those on tourist visa.
  • Seamen from countries of Russia.

Passengers travelling on flights from India to Russia will be destined for Russia only. Likewise, passengers originating from Russia will be allowed to travel on the flights from Russia to India.

Russian carrier Aeroflot will operate flights on Moscow – Delhi route from February 12, on Fridays and Sundays. Return flights will operate on Saturdays and Mondays.

India has established bilateral travel deals with 25 countries including Afghanistan, Nepal, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Canada, France, Germany, Iraq, Japan, Kenya, Maldives, Nigeria, Oman, Qatar, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates (UAE), United Kingdom (UK), United States of America (USA) among others.