Mandarin Oriental has signed a contract to manage and re-brand Zurich’s historic Savoy Baur en Ville hotel in 2024.

The hotel is currently managed by Credit Suisse and will close in 2022, undergoing a renovation before reopening as the Mandarin Oriental Savoy, Zurich, in 2024.

The historic property was founded in 1838 by Johannes Baur, a baker apprentice from Vorarlberg, and is located on Paradeplatz, the main square in Zurich’s old town.

The hotel has already seen a couple of important renovations in its lifetime, first in 1907 and subsequently from 1975 to 1978. The upcoming renovation will last two years and will be overseen by French interior designer Tristan Auer.

The Mandarin Oriental Savoy, Zurich, will have 80 rooms and suites (reduced from the current 104), and three dining venues, including an all-day restaurant and a lobby lounge. The renovation will also see the addition of a state-of-the-art fitness centre, and a refurbishment of conference and event facilities, including the grand historic ballroom.

Commenting on the news James Riley, group chief executive of Mandarin Oriental, said:

“We are delighted to have the opportunity to bring Mandarin Oriental to this important European destination and to rebrand a well-established landmark. This is a strategic city for the Group, which consolidates and complements our regional presence in central Europe, including upcoming projects in Vienna and Lucerne.”

Urs Rohner, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Credit Suisse Group, added:

“We look forward to working with Mandarin Oriental to create one of the best luxury hotels in the city. The Group is renowned for its legendary service standards and for its attention to detail, and we are very pleased to be working with like-minded partners on this project.”

Earlier this year, the hotel group unveiled an extensive refurbishment of its Munich property and also announced plans to manage its first Austrian property in Vienna in 2023.

Mandarin Oriental currently operates 33 hotels and seven residences in 23 countries and territories.