India finalises air bubble agreements with 13 countries

21 Sep 2020 by Anithya Balachandran
Indian aviation

India has now established bilateral air bubble arrangements with 13 countries — Afghanistan, Bahrain, Canada, France, Germany, Iraq, Japan, Maldives, Nigeria, Qatar, UAE, UK and US.

Air bubbles are temporary arrangements between two countries aimed at restarting commercial passenger services when regular international flights are suspended owing to the Covid-19 crisis.

They are reciprocal in nature, meaning airlines from both countries enjoy similar benefits.

Hardeep Singh Puri, minister of Civil Aviation, Government of India had earlier announced that the country was negotiating with destinations including Japan, Australia, Italy and Bahrain to facilitate international travel amidst pandemic.

In his latest tweet, Puri announced that air bubbles are in place with 13 countries and talks are on with others.

He tweeted:

The details regarding categories of passengers eligible to fly under these air bubbles as well as information regarding the airlines operating on these sectors can be viewed here.

“More flights, destinations and air bubbles being put in place to facilitate inbound and outbound international travel of stranded citizens under Vande Bharat Mission. More than 17 lakh people facilitated since May 6, 2020. Reaching out to more every day,” said Puri.

Loading comments...

Search Flight

See a whole year of Reward Seat Availability on one page at

Business Traveller November 2023 cover
Business Traveller November 2023 cover
Be up-to-date
Magazine Subscription
To see our latest subscription offers for Business Traveller editions worldwide, click on the Subscribe & Save link below