India in talks with 13 more countries to establish 'air bubble' arrangements

19 Aug 2020 by Business Traveller India
Amritsar, India

Civil aviation minister Hardeep Singh Puri has said that India is negotiating with 13 more countries to establish air bubble arrangements for international travel.

These include Australia, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Nigeria, Bahrain, Israel, Kenya, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand. “The ongoing negotiations will benefit stranded Indians and nationals of these countries,” said Puri.

Air bubbles have also been proposed with our neighbouring countries such as Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Nepal and Bhutan.

Puri tweeted:

Currently, India has set up bilateral travel agreements with the US, UK, Canada, Germany, France, the UAE, Qatar and the Maldives.

As a part of this, international carriers such as British Airways, Lufthansa and Virgin Atlantic are operating flights between India and their respective hubs and beyond.

Likewise, Indian carriers including Vistara, Spicejet and Indigo are also flying to the UK, US and UAE among others, under special arrangements.

Meanwhile, the Indian government is also further strengthening the reach and scope of the repatriation drive, Vande Bharat Mission which will enter its sixth phase from September 1, 2020.

Loading comments...

Search Flight

See a whole year of Reward Seat Availability on one page at

The cover of the Business Traveller April 2024 edition
The cover of the Business Traveller April 2024 edition
Be up-to-date
Magazine Subscription
To see our latest subscription offers for Business Traveller editions worldwide, click on the Subscribe & Save link below