SAARC countries commit to COVID-19 emergency fund

24 Mar 2020 by Anithya Balachandran

As the Covid-19 threat escalates across south Asia, South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) ramps up measures — one of their focus points is the Covid-19 emergency fund, proposed by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi during his video conference with country leaders on March 15, 2020.

SAARC member states are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

India offered an initial contribution of US$10 million that will be at the disposal of all SAARC countries. While Bangladesh has announced US$1.5 million as a contribution to the emergency fund, Afghanistan has extended support of US$1 million.

Modi tweeted:

Likewise, the Maldives, Nepal, Bhutan and Sri Lanka have offered US$2 million, US$1 million, US$ 100,000 and US$5 million respectively. The Indian Prime Minister has lauded each of these countries for their contribution.

However, Pakistan is the only SAARC nation that has not announced any contribution to the COVID-19 emergency fund yet.

Loading comments...

Search Flight

See a whole year of Reward Seat Availability on one page at

Business Traveller July / August 2022 cover
Business Traveller July / August 2022 cover
Be up-to-date
Magazine Subscription
To see our latest subscription offers for Business Traveller editions worldwide, click on the Subscribe & Save link below