The United States and Canada have agreed to restrict all non-essential travel across their border amid the coronavirus pandemic.

“These measures will last in place as long as we feel they need to last,” Prime Minister Justin Trudeau told reporters today.

“In both our countries, we’re encouraging people to stay home. We’re telling our citizens not to visit their neighbours if they don’t absolutely have to.”

A start date to the measures is still being agreed, CBC reports.

Trade will not be affected, President Donald Trump tweeted.

It also emerged today that Puerto Rico is asking US authorities to suspend all domestic and international flights to the island for 14 days.

Read our latest coverage of the coronavirus here.