PM Modi claims modernisation of rail travel

21 Jan 2020 by Akanksha Maker
Tejas Express

IRCTC’s (Indian Railways Catering and Tourism Corporation’s) Tejas Express from Ahmedabad to Mumbai, India’s second private train, was flagged off on January 19.

The first such train, the Lucknow-Delhi Tejas Express, has been running since last year.

Sharing glimpses of  the Ahmedabad-Mumbai bound Tejas Express that was flagged off by Railway Minister Piyush Goyal and Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, Narendra Modi shared on Instagram that it would modernise railway travel, bringing more comfort and convenience to the travellers.

Railway Minister Piyush Goyal also Tweeted pictures of the newly launched Ahmedabad-Mumbai Tejas Express.

The Ahmedabad-Mumbai Tejas Express plies six days a week with Thursdays as off-days for maintenance activities.

The train 82902/82901 starts its journey at Ahmedabad at 0640 and reaches Mumbai Central at 1310, having scheduled commercial halts at Nadiad, Vadodara, Bharuch, Surat, Vapi and Borivali.

For the return journey, the train leaves Mumbai Central at 1540 and reaches Ahmedabad at 2155 having scheduled halts at Borivali, Vapi, Surat, Bharuch, Vadodara and Nadiad.

The tickets of Ahmedabad-Mumbai Tejas Express can be booked only online on IRCTC website and there will be no booking available at railway reservation counters.

This fully air-conditioned train shall have two executive class chair cars having 56 seats each and eight chair cars having the capacity of 78 seats each. The total carrying capacity of the train will be 736 passengers.

Loading comments...

Search Flight

See a whole year of Reward Seat Availability on one page at

The cover of the Business Traveller June 2024 edition
The cover of the Business Traveller June 2024 edition
Be up-to-date
Magazine Subscription
To see our latest subscription offers for Business Traveller editions worldwide, click on the Subscribe & Save link below