Lufthansa Group to overhaul status-earning system

13 Nov 2019 by Jenni Reid
Lufthansa A380 at Munich airport

The Lufthansa Group will move from a miles-based system of awarding status to a points-based one in 2021.

“Today’s diversity of variously defined so-called miles will be significantly reduced,” the group said.

Currently that includes status miles, HON Circle miles, select miles, Status Star points and flight segments.

From January 1, 2021, passengers will receive points based on their class of travel and destination.

Lufthansa points

Achieving status will require more points to be earned with Austrian Airlines, Lufthansa, Swiss, or Miles and More airline partners Brussels Airlines, Eurowings, Air Dolomiti, Croatia Airlines, LOT Polish Airlines or Luxair.

However the system for award miles, which can be redeemed for flights, awards and services, will not be changed.

Earning 7,500 points will see passengers given Frequent Traveller Lifetime status, and those who reach 10,000 qualifying points after being a Senator or HON Circle Member for ten calendar years will get Senator Lifetime.

Status Stars are being eliminated, but any accrued until December 31, 2020 will be turned into qualifying points.

While Lufthansa’s intention is to simplify the system, there are a lot of details on what is changing. The group has released an in-depth explanation on its website. However here are some of the key details.

Point earning

Currently when passengers fly within Europe they earn a fixed mileage amount depending on the booking class and airline, while for other flights the calculation is based on airline, booking class and distance.

In future passengers will earn points on Lufthansa, Swiss, Austrian and Miles and More partners. The number of points earned will be based on travel class and whether it is continental or intercontinental. The amount of points will be the same for all members, so there will be no Executive Bonus in the new points system, though it will still apply to award miles.

Status requirements

Frequent Traveller status is currently achieved by earning 35,000 status miles or taking 30 flight segments in one calendar year (though the latter is only possible on Miles and More partners). Senator status is achieved with 100,000 status miles within one calendar year. HON Circle Member status is achieved by earning 600,000 HON Circle miles within two calendar years, though these can only be earned in Business Class and First Class.

Under the new system, Lufthansa says it will reward “those who mainly fly with us”. You will only be able to achieve or renew status if you have earned a certain number of your points with Lufthansa, Swiss, Austrian Airlines, Brussels Airlines, Eurowings, LOT Polish Airlines, Croatia Airlines, Luxair and Air Dolomiti.

Frequent Traveller will be reached through 160 points in one calendar year, at least 80 of which must be qualifying points. Senator will be reached with 480 points in one calendar year, 240 of which much be qualifying. Meanwhile HON Circle will require 1,500 qualifying points, but these can be gained through flights in economy and premium economy.

Time limits

Status was previously valid for at least two years and ended the following February, while the qualifying period for Frequent Travellers and Senators was one calendar year and two calendar years for HON Circle Members.

From 2021, status will begin as soon as you achieve it and finish at the end of February the year after next. The qualifying period for all levels will be one calendar year. Anyone who qualifies or renews status up until December 31, 2020 will still retain their two-year term.

Loading comments...

Search Flight

See a whole year of Reward Seat Availability on one page at

The cover of the Business Traveller May 2024 edition
The cover of the Business Traveller May 2024 edition
Be up-to-date
Magazine Subscription
To see our latest subscription offers for Business Traveller editions worldwide, click on the Subscribe & Save link below