OSL – LHR – PHX and return, a tale from First

Back to Forum
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 44 total)

• Anonymous

RoadKing
    Participant

As it has been popular lately to share ones experiences with Avios and BA First, I thought I should share ours.
    I have been flying BA for many years, been a long standing Gold member of BAEC as well as accrued a pile of Avios. A couple of years ago, I got a new job and the frequency of travelling has degraded gradually, last year was my last with Gold status, this regardless of the new requirements following Avios.

With the decrease in professional flying my interest for my Avios grew, and the last year I made more investigation at how to spend them. As fellow posters have experienced, so have I, redeeming Avios have not been an easy accomplishment. When I started out, I had in mind to book CW trips, but as I saw how difficult it was, I started aiming at a First trip for me and my beloved to get rid of a huge pile as soon as possible, e.g. before I lost my Gold level, assuming this would further complicate getting at things.

Mind you, I fly out of Norway, and I strongly suspect that the booking system struggles with this fact, I never got any opening in First when I had Oslo as starting point. The odd opportunity I saw, were always from London. So, in the end we booked a First from London to Phoenix and added a separate booking ourselves from OSL to LHR and return.

Since we wanted to enjoy the Concorde room in full and avoid possible issues caused by delays, we left from Oslo one day early on Saturday March 23rd.